POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cotswolds 29 minutes ago

9 people have recently viewed this property

Tannery Cottage

Burford, Oxfordshire (Ref. 988619)

  • Rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • View on map

  • Rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • View on map

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Open fire Open fire
  • Icon/Feature/Smoke-free Smoke-free
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Cot available
  • Icon/Feature/Shop Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

* Based on a combined average customer score over the last 3 months

Group 2 Created with Sketch.

16 Customer Review(s)

  • “Gorgeous cottage is wonderful location with very comfy beds.”

    Unfortunately towards end of holiday we discovered oven did not work so this needs fixing. Despite emailing ahead of our visit after reading some bad reviews about cottage being dusty and in need of good clean we arrived to find very dusty - cobwebs all over beams and in shower and very dirty under beds etc - in need of thorough clean and airing. Also needs painting above sink in kitchen where it’s been plastered - generally needs refresh. Throws and sofas pretty old and stained. Despite this ...

    Unfortunately towards end of holiday we discovered oven did not work so this needs fixing. Despite emailing ahead of our visit after reading some bad reviews about cottage being dusty and in need of good clean we arrived to find very dusty - cobwebs all over beams and in shower and very dirty under beds etc - in need of thorough clean and airing. Also needs painting above sink in kitchen where it’s been plastered - generally needs refresh. Throws and sofas pretty old and stained. Despite this we loved location but cottage in dire need to deep clean and refresh.

    - Mrs Clarke, August 2019

    Thank you for your feedback on Tannery Cottage, many apologies that you did not find the cottage up to standard. We have taken measures to address the issues you have raised, to ensure future guests have an enjoyable stay. Owner relations

The property

Tannery Cottage is an immensely cosy Cotswold cottage, set in a quiet location near to the centre of Burford.

Internally, the owners have created a very civilised country bolthole that absolutely oozes classic English charm, with original flagstone floors, the wonky beams and oak flooring, this is a 19th century gem of a holiday cottage.

Very romantic and full of 'olde england' warmth.

The modern, open plan kitchen / diner with its view to the garden is most welcoming, while the Living Room with its woodburner is perfectly snug - and all with underfloor heating!

The bedrooms upstairs are beautifully styled with top-quality furnishings and linen each with unique touches creating a truly authentic Cotswolds experience.

This cottage is perfect for a family, ideal of a couple or two couples and we think it is hard not to imagine yourself returning to this cute hideaway time and time again.

Utterly Delightful!!

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: all double, top room can be made up as twins on request. Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Living room with woodburner and tv.
  • Central heating, woodburner
  • Gas range, with 5 hobs, multiple ovens and a grill, microwave, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer
  • Fuel and power inc in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc in rent
  • Travel cot
  • Enclosed garden with furniture
  • Roadside parking on quiet street
  • One well behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.1 mile
  • Note: The stairs to the twin room are steep and therefore not suitable for the less mobile or very young, the stairs up to the first floor are also steep
  • Note: This cottage is suited to 4 adults only
  • Note: Though there are 3 bedrooms as the cottage is only suitable for four people
  • Customers wont have used of all 3 bedrooms, you can choose between either having two double beds, or one double and two singles.

Calculate your drive time

About the location

Burford

Burford is possibly one of, if not THE most famous of the Cotswolds' locations. With its medieval bridge, old stone houses and attractive Tudor and Georgian frontages, Burford is justifiably one of the most picturesque towns in England. Often referred to as the 'Gateway to the Cotswolds', the town was originally a fortified Anglo-Saxon ford which later grew to be an important regional crossroads and wealthy wool town. Located mid way between Oxford and Cheltenham (25 mins each away) it is a little haven of history and beauty that many come to fall in love with when they visit.

The 16th century Tolsey building, once the meeting place for medieval merchants, now houses The Tolsey Museum, a delightful local museum illustrating the town's social and industrial past. The church is stunning, a real gem architecturally with many interesting memorials charting some of Burford's great families. There is also the signature, on the baptisimal font, of Antony Sedley, one of the Levellers besieged in the church in 1649 - three of the ringleaders were executed by Oliver Cromwell's men in the churchyard. History awaits!

With little changing over the centuries, Burford is now very popular with visitors, both for its beauty and history but also for its shopping and antiques, and for the wide variety of places to eat, with restaurants, pubs and teashops. It is an ideal base for visiting The Cotswolds area as it is within easy driving distance of popular attractions such as Blenheim Palace, Sudley Castle, Warwick Castle and several National Trust Houses and Gardens. Bourton on the Water, Bibury, Cirencester and Stow on the Wold are all with 25 minutes from the property.

Note: The stairs to the twin room are steep and therefore not suitable for the less mobile or very young, the stairs up to the first floor are also steep.
Note: This cottage is suited to 4 adults only.
Note: There are 3 bedrooms as the cottage is only suitable for four people. Customers won’t have use of all 3 bedrooms, you can choose between either having two double beds, or one double and two singles

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
paper-airoplane-icon Created with Sketch.

Sign up for exclusive offers and discounts sent straight to your inbox

Uh oh! An error occurred, could you double-check your email?

Tick Created with Sketch.

Thank You! You have subscribed successfully