Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

11 people have recently viewed this property

Dobbies Den

Bewdley, Worcestershire (Ref. 1133010)

4.5

Manor Cottages rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance

* Based on a combined average customer score

Group 2 Created with Sketch.

15 Customer Review(s)

  • Margaret

    “We arrived earlier at the property and knocked at the door.”

    As there was no answer we thought the property had been cleaned. We were going to ring the owner immediately and ask as a gesture of goodwill could we put some frozen food in the small icebox as we had been in Ludlow the previous week. We would have left then and returned after the cleaning. The cleaners turned up quite later. We did call the owner on arrival !!! As he wasn't there to see why we had complained, we got the impression he thought we were exaggerating. I did take a photograph. This ...

    As there was no answer we thought the property had been cleaned. We were going to ring the owner immediately and ask as a gesture of goodwill could we put some frozen food in the small icebox as we had been in Ludlow the previous week. We would have left then and returned after the cleaning. The cleaners turned up quite later. We did call the owner on arrival !!! As he wasn't there to see why we had complained, we got the impression he thought we were exaggerating. I did take a photograph. This is the first time we have come across this in all our years of using Sykes Holiday Cottages.The icebox had obviously been left for a couple of weeks and not been defrosted, the door would barely close. it was packed full of ice and blackcurrant spilled in it. The cleaners sorted the icebox and when we got back the fridge was turned off! I'm wondering if it hadn't been brought to the owner's notice, would this had been left again.We then found the kitchen cutlery drawers weren't very clean, the cupboard doors grubby, there was some dirty cutlery. We cleaned them ourselves and cleaned all the cutlery and the dishes. We also wiped the inside of the cupboards. Attention to detail with these cleanliness issues are important. As the owners didn't live nearby it might help if they occasionally came and checked for themselves avoiding negative feedback on important cleanliness issues. The bathroom was cold with one small towel rail. It needs extra heating, particularly in winter. The television kept freezing with a faulty signal. If these issues were addressed then the property would be given more stars. The property was on a very noisy main through road in and out of the town but did not affect our sleep. It eased off in the late evening. There was also a large building site over the road. On the positive side the beds were comfortable and the property was warm. It had a large garden at the back of the property. It was also convenient for a walk into the town. There was a good chip shop a few minutes walk from the property and a nice quiet local pub. If all of these issues were addressed at the property we would return if we were to revisit Bewdley.

    - Margaret, April 2024

    As stated, the check in time is 3pm. You let yourselves in at 12pm with no phone call to ourselves. You then called complaining re the cleanliness of the property and the ice box. We explained that the previous guests checked out at 10am and that it was booked to be cleaned at 1pm. ( 3 cleaners) We apologised re the ice box and would have come down to sort, however it would be done at 1pm. We asked, politely, if you could leave the property so it could be cleaned but you refused. The cleaners had to insist due to insurance as you were still there when they arrived at 1pm and you were asking to clean the property yourself. We let you know when the property was ready which was before 3pm. We do in fact check the property on a regular basis. We listen to customers comments and adjust the property accordingly. The company we use are fantastic. They go above and beyond and we have never had a problem. We have a very high cleanliness rating and it is often commented on favourably in reviews. There are some houses being built in the local area but this has not caused any visual or noise impact concerns to guests at this point. If you had called during your stay regarding the television we would have popped down or talked you through how to sort. We have looked at the radiator and it just needed some adjustments to the heating system. Thank you for your comments, Jo and Todd Property Owner

Summary

  • Two king-size bedrooms
  • Ground-floor bathroom with bath, shower over the bath, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge with ice box
  • Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Garden patio with furniture and fire pit
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Please enquire before booking if you wish to take other types of pets
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.7 miles, pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: Children are welcome but there are no child facilities

The property

This semi-detached cottage lies in the attractive market town of Bewdley, just a short walk from the town centre and many shops, pubs, and restaurants.

Tastefully decorated over two floors, whilst benefitting from off-road parking and a rear enclosed garden, Dobbies Den invites couples and families for a lovely stay in Worcestershire.

Step through the front door into the kitchen/diner, equipped with an electric oven and hob, microwave and fridge with ice box, encouraging home-cooking when you’re not sampling the local restaurants.

Move into the lounge, where you can put your feet, reflecting on the day’s activities, or tuning into the Smart TV.

A patio door leads to the rear garden, where you can relax at the patio furniture or get the fire pit going and entertain each other into the night.

Head upstairs and discover the bedrooms, both featuring king-size beds and a set of drawers for your personal items.

Head out the door and walk a mile over the bridge into the town centre of Bewdley, where you can learn about the local area with a visit to Bewdley Museum, enjoy a picnic in the Jubilee Gardens, or hop on board a vintage steam train as you enjoy a picturesque journey along the Severn Valley Railway.

On your return, there are several fabulous eateries in the town, so treat yourself to a night off cooking and sample some pub grub!

Those who enjoy spending their downtime outdoors with their four-legged friend in tow will be spoilt for choice when selecting a route, with Habberley Valley, Habberley Trail (perfect for both children and dogs), where you can also stop off for a picnic, the Wyre Forest, and Rifle Range Nature Reserve all nearby.

Those keen golfers can tee off at the superb Wharton Park Golf & Country Club, which features an 18-hole championship course and a driving range.

Head to the West Midlands Safari Park and wander around this 150-acre site, discovering a range of animals and a fascinating on-site discovery trail, sure to be loved by the little ones!

Choose Dobbies Den for a special retreat with all the family.

View on map

About the location

BEWDLEY

Stourport-on-Severn 5 miles; Cleobury Mortimer 7 miles.

The attractive market town of Bewdley, once described as "the most perfect Georgian town in Worcestershire", sits on the banks of the River Severn, and is close to the medieval Wyre Forest, with its many walks and cycle trails. Bewdley offers much to delight visitors, with a good choice of pubs, cafes and restaurants along the riverside, many tiny shops, antique and craft galleries, and all surrounded by beautiful countryside with gentle rolling hills, steep wooded valleys and meandering rivers offering many opportunities to discover a rich diversity of wildlife. The area has some of the best attractions in the country, with the Severn Valley Steam Railway, West Midlands Safari Park, numerous National Trust properties and many colourful events throughout the year, including riverside festivals and regattas, open air concerts and family activities. Something for everyone!

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas